%g_._ THE BISHOP SAYS
== https://jekl.com

Embankment Railroads

Description

A lot of people have been playing Hatten in Flames, a super fun campaign game
published by Multi-Man Publishing and designed by Andy Rogers. A lot of these players
soon turn to ASL forums looking for help on how to play the Embanked Railroad (EmRR)
running down the southern side of the map. For this article | have chipped off a small
piece of the Hatten map featuring the EmRR. We will examine which LOS are clear, which
are not, and where you can find this in the rules.

First, EmMRR are treated as Hillock hexes for LOS, COT, and TEM purposes (B32.12). We
are not concerned with TEM or COT so | will leave those for another article. Also, the
Hatten EmRR has no Hillock Summit so | will ignore those as well. It is also worth noting
the whole Embankment RR is one giant Hillock. As big as it is there is still only one Hillock
on the map. For the rest of this article, we will refer to the EmRR as a Hillock.

Determining LOS

First we need to understand “adjacent”. Referring to F6.4, a unit is adjacent to a Hillock if
the LOS crosses/touches a hexside/hexspine common to both a hillock hex and that unit’s
hex. The 8-3-8 is “adjacent” along each of the three LOS in the example. LOS which cross
the DD26/EE26 hexside would also qualify for adjacent.

Units ON a Hillock are % level higher than the Base Level of the underlying terrain (on the
Hatten map that is at level ¥2). They may see over THAT Hillock and the NEXT Hillock.
The may also see past a third Hillock to any non-entrenched/non-Emplaced units adjacent
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to that third Hillock. Units on a Hillock may also see over any wall/hedge whose top-most
height is strictly less than the height of the Hillock. Units on a Hillock also have a LOS over
the first wall/hedge whose topmost height is equal to the Hillock’s along that LOS. They
may also see past the second such wall/hedge but only to units adjacent to the second
wall/hedge.

Non-entrenched/non-Emplaced units “behind” and adjacent to a Hillock can see units past
that Hillock-effectively as if that Hillock did not exist. They may also see units "behind”
and adjacent to the next Hillock along that LOS.

We must keep the concept of reciprocity (A6.5) in mind. If unit A can see unit B then unit
B can see unit A. It is often easier to determine if the unit closest to the Hillock has LOS to
the other unit and then apply reciprocity.

Lastly, we need to consider that Hillocks are Inherent Terrain per F6.2. While the rule is
very clear, this has been further clarified by Q&A. Let’'s look at some examples.

Examples:
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Figufe 2

Refer to Figure 2. Let’s start with the easiest one. The 6-6-7 is ON the Hillock and at level
%. It can see all German units. As it is ON the Hillock, it can see over the first Hedge to
units beyond. It can also see past the first hedge to units behind and adjacent to the next
hedge. Being ON the Embankment RR (i.e., being ON the Hillock) it can see over that
Hillock. If the LOS is otherwise open, the Hillock will play no part in LOS determination
regardless of how many times the LOS crosses from one side of the Hillock to the other.

The 5-4-6 and 7-4-7 can see the 5-4-8 and the 8-3-8. Each of the German units are
adjacent to the Hillock. As such, each of those units can see-and be seen-by any units
beyond the Hillock along an LOS establishes adjacency. In each instance, notice the LOS
crosses a hexside shared by both the German units and a Hillock hex. If either German
unit were entrenched the LOS would be blocked. If either American unit were entrenched
the LOS would still exist. The LOS from the American 5-4-6 to the German 4-6-7 is blocked

Page 3
© Copyright 2021 - 2023 The Bishop Says



g;___ THE BISHOP SAYS
== https://jekl.com

because neither unit is adjacent to the Hillock along that LOS. Were the 5-4-6 in CC16 the
American unit would be adjacent to the Hillock and the LOS would be clear.

The 6-6-6 can see the 5-4-8, 4-6-7, and the 8-3-8 as they are adjacent to the Hillock and
can see over the Hillock to the units beyond. The 6-6-6 can also see the 4-6-7 behind the
hedge. As it is not ON the Hillock it cannot see past that hedge to the 4-3-6. The hedge
along the C22/B22 hexside blocks the LOS.

Pay particular attention to the LOS between the 8-3-8 and the 5-4-6. Even though the LOS
appears to leave the Hillock hexes passing along the left side of the Hillock before finally
crossing over the LOS is clear. Remember, the EmRR is effectively one large Hillock. The
Hillock rules say a unit behind and adjacent can see past THAT Hillock. No matter how
many times this LOS crosses from one side to the other, the LOS will be open. If one unit
is adjacent along that LOS it is often easier to imagine the EmRR does not exist.

Figure 3

Refer to Figure 3. Notice how the LOS passes through DD18, DD19, and DD20 via one of
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its vertices. On its face, this LOS looks clear but recall that Hillocks-and by extension
EmRR-are Inherent Terrain. Like any other Inherent Terrain, the terrain in a Hillock runs
out to the hexsides. As such, this LOS passes over the Hillock and units not adjacent to
the Hillock may not see over the intervening LOS. This LOS is blocked.

Figure 4
Refer to Figure 4. Recall again Hillocks are Inherent Terrain. As the Hillock is Inherent
terrain it fills the hex to each hexside and rises ¥z level above. This makes the Base Level
of this Location ¥z . All units except the 4-3-6 are behind and adjacent to the Hillock. Each
unit can see all the other units in the figure. LOS between the American and elite German
units is hindered by Smoke in DD18. LOS between German units is not hindered by

Smoke. As the Smoke is drifting from level 2, LOS between the American unit and the
German Conscript unit is unaffected by Smoke.

Conclusion:

First and foremost, | hope it's clear that Hillock rules are not a great fit for EmRR. In my
opinion, the rules as written don’t make a lot of sense in all cases when applied to a long,
thin terrain feature. This is best exemplified by the LOS in Figure 3. If you run into trouble
| encourage you to open to the F6 example and find the situation you're facing and see
what the example says. | find this example invaluable when trying to make heads or tails
of Embankment Railroads or Hillocks in general.
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If you're playing Hatten in Flames for the first time remember there is only ONE Hillock. A
lot of the Hillock rules don’t apply. Any LOS establishing a unit adjacent to the Hillock can
effectively ignore the Hillock for LOS purposes unless the either unit is
Emplaced/entrenched. Emplaced/entrenched units may see units ON the EmRR but not
“behind” the EmRR. Any unit ON the Hillock can also effectively ignore the Hillock for LOS
purposes. Units ON the Hillock can see over hedges and walls (and Rubble, see F6.412).

As always, | hope this helped. If you find an error in here or would like to see additional
examples please let me know and | will fix the issues. If you have any topic you would like
to see covered, please let me know and | may take you up on it. — jim
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