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Mechanics of Bounding First Fire

Description

This article is born out of a recent game. In the game, my opponent took a Bounding First
Fire shot with the AAMG on his M36 GMC and moved on to a new hex. Reaching the new
hex, he attempted to shoot the MA. Of course, we can’t do this. He and | spent some time
reviewing the rules so he could play it properly in the future. While conversing, | took
notes as | thought the discussion would make for a good post here. Without further ado,
let’s dive in.

A Brief Examination of the Rules

The applicable rules for this discussion are D3.3, D3.32, D3.5, and D3.51. Let’'s look at
them in some more detail. When reading the examples, some may find it helpful to review
my previous article “Infantry Target Type and Critical Hits” as it gives background on how
| personally announce my shots.

First, let’s look at D3.3. Here we learn a vehicle’s shot in the MPh is called Bounding First
Fire (B1F). This seems to be pretty obvious, but it has ramifications missed by some. In
my recent game, my opponent wanted to shoot in the MPh. He announced his ITT shot as
an 8 +2 to Hit. | asked him why not +4 and he replied only Case B applied since he had
not moved to a new hex. | pointed out Case B specifically applies in the AFPh, not the
MPh. We then looked at D3.3 to see it was a B1F shot. Lastly, | showed him the Case C
choices, pointing out how C through c3 are all applicable to B1F. Once | showed him, he
agreed it was all rather obvious.

Next, we'll look at D3.32. The important bit is this: “if the vehicle did not exhaust its
Multiple ROF during its MPh, and did not fire any other weapons (including PRC) during its
MPh, it may fire that Multiple ROF weapon (only) again once (C5.3) during its AFPh
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.” From this we learn, if the AFV fires any weapons other than a ROF capable weapon,
they may not use the ROF in AFPh. This puts the decision on the ATTACKING player to
decide if they will use the MG’s or forgo them for another ROF shot in AFPh. Given a
vehicle cannot place an Acquisition in B1F, waiting to shoot the MA in AFPh to place
Acquisition is not a bad option. You may say “but | don’t want to give up my MGs. Now
what?”

For that answer, we hop down to D3.5. First, it tells us a vehicle’s armaments are limited
to one fire attack per player turn unless it's the vehicle’s MA with a specific multi-ROF
capability. It further states mandatory Fire Grouping applies. It then goes on to state a
vehicle must fire all of its weapons/PRC from the same hex or forfeit their non-CC attack
opportunities for that phase.. A vehicle may fire its weapons multiple times and in
multiple Locations under two circumstances: if conducting multiple Overruns; a MA which
maintains ROF.

The last relevant rule is in the exception at the very bottom of D3.51. It repeats the
options for shooting from multiple hexes first noted in D3.5. Noticeably, it is even more
succinct about an MA’s eligibility to fire from a different hex if it gets ROF.

This is a lot of complexity to break down so let’s look at some examples.

Examples

Figure 1

Ex 1: This M4 has moved to L6 and Stops, having spent 5 MP’s. It now wants to fire its
weapons at the German Infantry. A standard M4 Sherman has 2/4/4 MGs under the turret
counter. It elects to fire them all. The IFT shot is a 4+1 since the MG firepower is halved in
B1F. After shooting the MG’s, the AFV is marked with a B1F counter. Recognizing he
couldn’t fire the MA in AFPh, the American player decides to shoot the MA as well. A +4
TH DRM applies [+2 Case B, +2 Case C, +1 Case Q, -1 Case L]. Assume the American AFV
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makes an Original TH DR of 1,4 giving a Final TH of a 9 which misses. The Sherman does
have ROF even though it would be marked with a Bounding Fire Counter.

Ex 2: Refer again to Figure 1. In this example, the Sherman instead fires it's MA first.
Again, it rolls an Original TH DR of 1,4. This is still a miss. This time, the American
commander has some considerations to give before simply shooting the MG’s. Is there a
reason to wait and shoot the MA in AFPh, perhaps to gain Acquisition? If he opts to shoot
the MA in AFPh he would forgo any opportunities with the MG’s. He could elect to shoot
the MG’s as B1F, but he must do so from his current Location despite maintaining ROF on
the MA. If he shoots the MG’s, he may fire the MA again from this Location or any other
reachable Locations as B1F during the MPh.

Figuré-2

Ex 3: Note in example 1 the Sherman maintained ROF. The MG’s cannot fire again since
they limited to one attack per player turn (D3.5). The MA can fire again but it too, has
limited options. Per D3.32, a vehicle which has fired only it's MA and maintained ROF may
fire that MA only in AFPh. Since the MG’s have fired, that is not an option. What could the
Sherman do? Well, if it has remaining MP’s, it may elect to delay 1 MP and shoot again at
the N5 squad depicted in Ex 1. Since it may move to another Location and shoot the ROF
weapon only, it could elect to move on and shoot from a second Location. Assume it
elects to move on.

In L4, it fires the MA at the 4-6-7 in M2. This time the total DRMs are +5. An attack on the
ITT would need an Original DR of <= 3 to hit. If the Sherman gets ROF on this shot, it
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could continue to shoot up to the limit of its MP’s. Furthermore, it could elect to shoot
either squad with this next ROF shot. To shoot at N5 it would have to make a TCA change
on the Delay MP. The Case A DRM for this CA change would be NA (D3.51) to the B1F
shot. The AFV is marked with a Bounding Fire counter once exhausting its fire options or
opting not to use them.

Ex 4: For this example, refer to Figure 1. For this, assume instead the Sherman did not
get ROF on the MA. The Sherman does have one more trick up his sleeve should the
American player be desperate enough: Intensive Fire (IF). Unlike ROF, IF is restricted to
the original hex per Q&A. As such, the AFV could not move and elect to fire from L4 as it
did in example 2. It may only IF from L5.

Figure 3

Ex 5: The American tank shoots its MGs in B1F and breaks the German Infantry. Sensing
an opportunity the American player would like to move the Sherman into position to get a
shot on the Panther now. He starts and moves to M5 before stopping and declaring a shot
on the Panther. It is there he learns he has violated D3.51.

In order to shoot the MA from a second hex, it must shoot from the first hex and maintain
ROF. Q&A further supports this. To properly do this, the Sherman would have to shoot the
MA from M7-probably at the broken unit-and hoped to maintain ROF. If it did so, it could
then move to M5 and attempt to shoot the Panther in the rear. The Sherman’s Gun Duel
DRM are halved. This is indicated by the white ROF background. It would win any potential
Gun Duel with the Panther. For more information on Gun Duels, see my previous article “
Making Sense of Gun Duels.”
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Conclusion

One of the greatest strengths of vehicles is their ability to shoot and move. Clearly this is
too complex a topic to cover all options in a short 3 pages. There is enough presented
here to form a solid foundation for mobile warfare. From these short examples, | hope |
conveyed the capabilities and limitations of AFV combat and how to properly execute B1F
shots. Just keep in mind, this has been a discussion of the mechanics of B1F shots and not
the tactics.

As always, | hope this article helps in some small way. If you have questions, corrections,
or suggestions for another article, let me know in the comments below. Until next time. —
jim
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