
Missing Example: The Basics of AFV Combat in ASL–Mechanics of Bypass
Movement

Description

In their most recent iteration of Illuminating Rounds, Dave and Martin were discussing the
mechanics of AFV Bypass movement. They were discussing my recent article, Missing 
Example: The Basics of AFV Combat in ASL—Motion Escape. The guys asked what
happens when an AFV turns in bypass and sorted it out, but I think the discussion
deserves a little more attention. Allow me to expand on it here. Let’s get started.

Covered Arc Focal Point (CAFP)

Figure 1

It is the German MPh. The Pz IV has moved into bypass of K5. All LOS to and from the Pz
IV is measured from the CAFP, but where is it? According to D2.32, “When using VBM, the 
vehicle counter is placed on the hexside being traversed so that it straddles the hexside, 
with the VCA corner of the counter resting on the vertex of that hexside in the direction 
the vehicle is facing. This vertex is called the Covered Arc Focal Point (CAFP) and is the 
point in the hex where all fire to and from the vehicle is traced…
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” The CAFP for this AFV is at the K5/K6/J5 vertex. Direction has nothing to do with
determining the CAFP. Even if the Pz IV were reversing in this position, its CAFP would be
at the same vertex. 

American Gun Appears

Figure 2

The Americans reveal a HIP 57L and declare a shot on the German AFV. Assume the Gun
misses but keeps ROF. What happens next?

Assume the German player continues into bypass of K6. To do so, the German player
announces a VCA change for 1 MP. According to D2.33, the American Gun may fire on this
MP expenditure but how is this resolved?

Figure 3

Again, we refer to D2.33. Per that rule, “If Defensive First Fired upon or Immobilized 
before it can complete its move, it is considered to be at the same CAFP and Target 
Facing last occupied before the VCA change.” Even though the Germans have declared
the VCA change, the Pv IV does not complete the VCA change until it moves into the K6/J5
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hexside. All fire on the VCA change takes at the same CAFP and Target Facing it last
occupied. 

Determining Target Facing

Figure 4

When a vehicle is in bypass, there is a unique way to determine Target Facing, unlike any
other instance in ASL. Per D2.32, “The Target Facing of a hit vs a vehicle in Bypass is 
based on the hex it originated from (not the target hexside crossed as per normal Target 
Facing; 3.2)”. Notice, it is not where the LOF crosses the targeted AFV’s Location. Instead,
we determine where the fire originates from. Referring to the diagram at the left, we see
the American Gun is in the side TCA/VCA of the Pz IV. If the Gun hit, it would attack the
side (box 3) armor of the German AFV.

As a defender facing behemoth AFVs, you should seek to create these side shots. Even
here, by gaining a side shot the American player has significantly increased his chance to
kill the Pz IV. Were the Pz IV instead a Panther, with 18 frontal armor and 6 side/rear, the
American player has actually created a way to eliminate the Panther. 

I have said this before, but it bears repeating: An AFV in bypass is defensively
compromised. Such a bypass position can be powerful if your opponent hasn’t anticipated
the opportunity, but that position can cut both ways.

A Last Bypass Subtlety Often Missed
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Figure 5

For a last example, consider the figure at the right. The German player declares bypass of
the K5 along the K5/K6 hexside. The American Gun has LOS to the K5/K6/L5 vertex and
declares a shot. Is the German AFV within the Guns CA? Per C.5B “A firer that must fire 
within a given CA must have the hex containing the target completely within its 
CA—merely having the vertex (or hexside) aiming point forming a part of the boundary of 
its CA is insufficient.” Looking the Gun’s CA, hex K5 is NOT within its CA. If the American
Gun wishes to fire, it must change its CA to hit the German AFV.

Figure 6

As players, it is important that we are pedantic about which hex we are bypassing in. We
should also be just as pedantic with our opponents. It can make a big difference. Consider
the example in figure 6. Which hex is the Panther in? If it is in Z7, the American Gun not
only has LOS but the Panther is in its CA. If the Panther is in Y7, the Gun has LOS but must
change CA to shoot. As a player, we must insist on clarity lest a wily player decide after
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the fact the Panther was in Y7.

Conclusion

Thanks to Dave and Martin for their excellent series. A further thanks for their question
which led to this article. Without questions from the community, articles like these are not
possible.

I hope this continues to expand on knowing where CAFP is and which hex the AFV is 
ACTUALLY in when in bypass. These two pieces of information play a critical role in
determining how to deal with an AFV in bypass. I hope these have helped clarify this for
you. Until next time. — jim

THE BISHOP SAYS
https://jekl.com

Page 5
© Copyright 2021 - 2023 The Bishop Says


