
The Basics of Infantry Combat in ASL: Infantry Overrun

Description

Hello again. This article covers Infantry Overrun (OVR). It is a small section of the rules
with very little Q&A over the years. It is an important aspect of Infantry movement that
can make all the difference. The designers added this rule early in ASL playtesting. This
stops players from putting lone Single Man Counters (SMC) into Locations and denying
enemy MMC movement into those Locations. When the game is about Control or exit,
knowing Infantry OVR can be the difference between defeat and victory.

Rules Dive

Rules A4.15-.152 covers Infantry OVR. When a lone SMC is in a Location and an enemy
MMC wishes to move through/into that Location in the MPh, the moving units must roll a
TC and pay double the MF cost for entering the SMC’s Location. A leader may take that
NTC on behalf of units stacked with it. It an SMC takes the NTC, no other unit in the
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Location can attempt this NTC if the SMC fails. Failure of the NTC means those units
attempting Infantry OVR may take no other actions in that phase. It’s important to note
that the NTC may be taken at any point during the MPh prior to entering the SMC’s
Location. Should a unit enter a concealed SMC’s Location, the NTC is taken in the Location
and the doubling of MFs is NA.

Add the TEM of the Location to the NTC DR as a positive DRM. Any Hindrance (SMOKE,
grain, brush, etc) apply as a positive DRM. Hexside TEM only applies if, at the time of the
NTC, the LOS from the OVR unit to the SMC crosses the hexside TEM..

Finally, Japanese SMC may Infantry OVR on their own (I guess that Katana isn’t just for
show; G1.4). Also, Japanese MMC do not need to take an NTC to conduct Infantry OVR
(G1.62). 

SMC’s Options

Assuming the OVRing Infantry passes the NTC, the decisions now fall to the player owning
the SMC if the SMC is in Good Order. If able to do so (heroic leaders, leaders possessing a
SW, heroes), it may attack the OVRing Infantry on the IFT. This can be Point Blank Fire at
the adjacent or Triple Point Blank Fire in its Location. Assuming the OVRing Infantry
survives the IFT attacks, the OVRing Infantry and the SMC conduct CC attacks during the
MPh and apply the results immediately. 

The SMC can also opt not to Defensive First Fire and instead be placed in an adjacent,
Accessible Location of the ATTACKER’s choice. It must do this movement immediately,
before ANY Defensive Fire. The opposing player cannot attack the SMC because of this
movement. The opposing player cannot force the SMC into an enemy unit’s Location, FFE,
Wire, Mines, or Open Ground unless no other option exists. If OVR multiple times in the
same MPh, the SMC can use this movement option in each instance.  

A SMC that is broken, pinned, TI, in Melee, occupying a vehicle, or otherwise incapable of
moving, cannot opt to move and its attack options are limited to those of its current
status.

Example 1: Path Considerations
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It is the last American MPh. The American Victory Conditions require them to exit via Q1.
The German player seeks to block the exit and has placed a SMC in the Location to deny
the Americans entry into the Location. What are the American options?

The American player can opt for Infantry OVR, but where should he take the NMC and who
should take it? First, let’s focus on the VC. The Americans must exit at the end of this
turn, so at the very least, the Americans must be in Q1 by the CCPh to exit hopefully via
Infiltration. Remember, it can take the NTC at any point prior to entering the SMC’s
Location. It is in the American player’s best interest to take the NTC adjacent to the SMC’s
Location.

Recall, in hex TEM/Hindrance applies to the NTC as a positive DRM. There is no TEM in Q1
but there is hexside TEM. Hexside TEM only applies if the “present LOS crosses the
hexside.” Let’s consider the red path. If the American player opts for an NTC in R3, there
is no hexside TEM, but if the American player fails the NTC, his units end their turn right
where they are and he certainly loses.

He could opt to take the NTC in Q3. Again, the hexside TEM does not apply as there is no
hedge along the Q1/Q2 hexside. If he opts to take the NTC in P1 or P2, the hexside TEM
would apply to the NTC as the LOS into Q1 crosses a hedge. But taking the NTC in P1 is
better since failure of the NTC here would at least allow the Americans to advance into
the 9-1’s Location and hope for Infiltration to exit for the win.

Example 1: NTC Considerations

The best path for the Americans is the white arrow. No hexside TEM or in-hex
TEM/Hindrances factor into the consideration. Remember, it costs double to enter the
SMC’s Location. Not only is this the easiest path from a MF point (4 MFs), it is the easiest

THE BISHOP SAYS
https://jekl.com

Page 3
© Copyright 2021 - 2023 The Bishop Says



path from an NTC perspective as well since there is no positive DRM. 

So who takes it? Here, it is best if the 9-1 takes the NTC since it passes on a 9. The squad
would only pass on an 8 with the leaders -1 DRM. If the SMC passes the NTC, it exempts
any MMC moving with him from the NTC requirement. For our example, assume the 9-1
takes and passes the NTC and the American units enter the German Location.

Example 1: Finalizing the Attack

Since this leader is not heroic and possesses no SW, it has no FP with which to attack on
the IFT. The German SMC could opt to be placed into any accessible Location at the
American player’s discretion, subject to the limitations discussed earlier. Since this allows
the American player to exit for the win, this isn’t a good idea.

Instead, the German player opts for immediate CC. As the phasing player, the American is
the ATTACKER. In CC, the attack odds are 7:1, resolved on the 6:1 column of the Close
Combat Table. The Americans receive a -1 DRM because of leadership. The CC Kill# is a
10. An Original CC DR ≤ 10 eliminates the German SMC and the American units can
continue their move. The German SMC would suffer Casualty Reduction and have to make
a Wound Severity dr on an Original CC DR of 11. Eliminate the German SMC on a Wound
Severity dr ≥ 5 and the American units are free to continue their move.

On a Wound Severity dr ≤ 4, or on an Original CC DR = 12, the German SMC survives and
all units in the Location are in Melee and covered with a Melee counter. This ends the
American players movement, leaving him to hope for Infiltration in the CCPh.

Clearly, the odds favor the American player, but the German player has manufactured a
chance to win regardless of how slim it actually is. Some chance is better than no chance.

Example 2: The SMC Fights Back
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It is again the American player’s turn. Again, the American must exit, but this time via the
Y10 hex. The Americans took the path outlined via the arrow. This time the SMC is a hero.
Note, the Americans would have a +2 DRM to their NTC because of the wall’s TEM.
Assume the American leader passes the NTC. The German player could opt to fire a 1 -3
IFT attack in W9. Since the hero has Wall Advantage, it could also opt for a second 1 -3 IFT
attack in X9. Those are easy.

When the American units enter Y10, the hero could opt to move into an accessible
Location at the American player’s discretion subject to A4.151. As the American could just
late Double Time to exit or Advance off in the APh, this is a losing option. 

Instead, the hero opts to stand and fight. Since it is Final Fired and now has a TPBF
opportunity, it MUST opt to fire as Final Protective Fire, which simultaneously acts as a
NMC against the hero. Again, this will be a 1 -3 attack. Assume the American units and
German hero survive these attacks unscathed. All that’s left is to conduct the immediate
CC attack. The Americans attack on the 6:1 column. If the Americans cannot eliminate the
German hero, mark all units in the Location with a Melee counter, leaving the American
hoping for Infiltration to exit the map. 

And before you ask, yes, the Americans could have opted to go via X8, Y9, Y10 to avoid
the hexside TEM and the negative FFMO and FFNAM DRM. Assuming the Americans aren’t
in Melee, they could late Double Time to leave the board in the MPh or advance off in APh.
Of course, waiting for the APh risks a Sniper attack pinning or breaking them. There is no
free lunch in ASL.

Example 3: Entering a Concealed SMC’s Location
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It is the American MPh. They are not sure what is in Y9 since it is Concealed. Hoping to
just strip Concealment, the Americans move into Y9 for 2 MFs. This reveals the German
SMC. The Americans can now opt to Infantry OVR the SMC and they don’t have to pay the
2 extra MFs for entering Y9. The American MMC must still take a NTC, adding a +2 DRM
for the SMC’s +2 TEM. If the American unit fails the NTC (or they choose not to attempt an
OVR), return the unit to X8 and its turn ends there.

If the American MMC passes its NTC, the German player then decides between staying for
Close Combat or allowing the American player to move the SMC into an adjacent
accessible hex. Here, since all adjacent accessible Locations are Open Ground, place the
German unit in an accessible Open Ground hex. If they opt for CC, the Americans would
attack immediately at 6:1 odds. If the Americans cannot eliminate the German SMC, cover
all units in the Location with a Melee counter.

Example 4: What Happens When Random Selection Is In Play
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Again, it is the American MPh. Seeking to strip German Concealment, the American player
moves into Y9 for 2 MF. Because both German units are Concealed, the German player
must use Random Selection to determine which unit to reveal (A12.15). Assume the
Random Selection drs were 5 and 2, revealing the SMC. The German player must now
reveal the 4-6-7 as well to bounce the American squad back to X8 where it ends its turn.
Of course, the German player can opt to perform Defensive Fire normally.

Had the 4-6-7 been selected, the American unit is returned to X8 and the German SMC
would keep Concealment. Again, the German player can Defensive Fire normally.

Example 5: OVRing Again

It is the American MPh. The 3-4-7 half squad (HS) has previously tried to Infantry OVR the
German SMC but failed to eliminate it. The American opts to double down by trying
Infantry OVR with the 6-6-7 In Y9. Assume the squad passes the NTC +2, rolling an
Original DR ≤ 5 on the NTC. It moves into Y9 for 4 MFs. Since the German SMC is not in
Good Order, it cannot opt to be moved. Since it is in Melee, it has no fire options even if it
is heroic or possessing a SW. The Americans would conduct an immediate 6:1 CC attack.
If the attack eliminates the German SMC, the American squad is free to continue its
movement. The American HS is no longer held in Melee. It may not continue its
movement since it isn’t the unit that was moving and eliminated the German SMC.

Conclusion
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As always, I hope this article helps in some small way. While we didn’t cover a large
section of the rules, I hope I have given you a broad enough perspective on the rules to
apply this in your games. It is one more tool in your bag of tricks. It won’t come up often,
but knowing how to properly execute Infantry OVR can turn losses into wins. Until next
time. – jim
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