
Hulldown, Vehicular Bypass Movement, And TEM

Description

This article will examine a very narrow section of the rules. In it, we will explore when and
how to apply Wall TEM to an AFV in a couple of different circumstances. For some, this is
likely old news but for some others, this may help to shed some light on this section of the
rules. Let’s get started.

A Look At The Rule

A vehicle targeted by Direct Fire ordnance is Hulldown (HD) when receiving Wall TEM.
B9.36 covers this. So far, this seems pretty straightforward.

Map Overview
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Once again, we return to board 4, the home of almost every example I have ever posted.
All the subsequent examples we will see here today will come from this piece of the
board. For those who may wish to set this up on their own, note that I have changed the
board to make Grain out of season. This makes the examples much cleaner and easy to
follow. I include this here to make it easier to see some of the following examples. Refer
to this if you are having a hard time visualizing the terrain in the examples. 

Example 1: Not So Simple

The Sherman is in the P8 building when the PzIV shoots the Main Armament (MA) at the
Sherman. The Sherman is behind the Wall and thus capable of receiving Wall TEM and
thus, HD to incoming Direct Fire. 
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But the Sherman is ALSO in the building and capable of receiving +2 TEM. How do we
resolve this? B9.36 resolves this conundrum. The player receiving fire may choose which
TEM he elects to receive AFTER the shot declaration but BEFORE the actual TH DR is
made. 

There are some situations and TEM combinations where it might be better to receive “in-
hex” TEM rather than Wall TEM. I leave the discovery of those as an exercise for the
reader. It is also worth noting that PRC cannot qualify for Wall TEM (B9.3).

Bypass LOF

This one may be a little subtle. I know I have seen this misplayed many times. I have also
explained this many times. Is the Sherman in LOS of the PzIV? Is the Sherman in the
PzIV’s TCA? 

If you answered YES and NO, congratulations. If you answered YES and YES, then you
have missed C.5B. These are the “dot” rules at the beginning of most chapters. 

Per C.5B, the complete hex containing the target must be within the CA to be considered
IN the CA. Having a vertex or hexside is not sufficient. 
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Refer to the diagram at the right. I have removed the vehicles for clarity. The red line
demarcates the left edge of the PzIV’s TCA/VCA. The Sherman’s Covered Arc Focal Point
(CAFP) is at the P8-O8-P7 vertex. While the vertex is within the PzIV’s TCA, the Sherman
itself is not because the whole of the hex it occupies–P8–is not. To shoot, the PzIV would
need to change its TCA one hexspine counter-clockwise to fire on the Sherman.

Hulldown In Bypass

In a previous article, I talked about the pedantry of specifying which hex the unit is 
actually in when bypassing an obstacle. Once again, that will help us here. Recall, to
qualify for Wall TEM–and thus be HD to incoming fire–the LOF must be traced “through” a
Wall hexside. The Sherman here is IN P8. The LOF necessarily must cross the wall to reach
the vertex in P8. Yes, the vertex exists simultaneously in three hexes, but the only one
that matters is P8 and LOF to that hex crosses the wall. For those who still remain in
doubt, this is further clarified in B9.42
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Contrast the previous example with this one. Again, the Sherman is in Bypass of P8. The
Wall along the P7 / P8 hexside still exists, except this time, the LOF from the PzIV does not
go “through” the Wall hexside. The Sherman does not qualify for HD status. Again, if you
still have doubts, I refer you to B9.42. Many long time players may find this rule new to
them. It is a relatively recent addition.

Conclusion

It is August, the traditional month of vacation in most countries. This is no exception for
me either. I will probably stick to my original short form article for a bit while I ride out the
heat and malaise that comes with it. Additionally, I am quietly working on a larger article
in the background but I am not sure what I will do with it yet. I am quite excited to present
it to you but I have some logistics and outside considerations that I must weigh before
publishing it. 

I hope this article finds you and yours in good health. Until next time. – jim
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