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Good Order Vehicles

Description

Lt Bishop

This article stems from a discussion with a reader. In my article on Mandatory Fire Groups
a reader asserted that A7.55 as originally written did not apply to vehicles since they
were not “Good Order.” | admit to being a little flabbergasted by this assertion as it
seemed self evident to me that vehicles shared the status of the manning crew. Sadly,
the rule book never states this directly as he pointed out. So | had to dig further. Let’s see
where | got to and why | believe vehicles must be Good Order.

Keep in mind, while everything | say in this article has some basis on the rules, it is my
reading of the rules and thus informed opinion absent pending clarification.

Rule Book Definition Of Good Order
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The Index and A.7 define Good Order as “a Personnel unit or vehicular inherent crew
which is neither broken, berserk, captured, stunned, shocked, or held in Melee.”
Historically, “inherent vehicular crew” wasn’t part of A.7. A replacement page added it in
later. Still, the definition of Good Order in both instances included “stunned, shocked”
which only apply to inherent vehicular crews. This wording strongly suggests vehicles
which have Stunned/Shocked crews cannot be in Good Order.

In my personal experience, | find it easier to view the AFV as sharing the same status as
the manning crew. The reader however said he views them as different things. He said
the inherent crew could be in Good Order, but a vehicle never has a “status”. A vehicle
could not be in “Good Order” and so the original A7.55 did not apply to vehicles.

What Is A Unit

According to the index, a Unit is “Any game piece or counter with its own MF/MP allotment
and normally capable of movement without being portaged, pushed, or towed. Infantry,
Cavalry [but not horses], Dummy stacks, and vehicles (even if Immobilized) are all
different units.” While this is pretty clear, it raises a question. Is an Abandoned vehicle
still a unit? It has a MP allotment and is normally capable of movement but does
Abandonment change that? According to Q&A, it does not. An Abandoned vehicle is a unit.

This gives some credence to my reader’s belief that inherent crews and vehicles may just
be different in determining Good Order status. Perhaps my shorthand view that vehicular
status reflected the crew is wrong.
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But as a reader, you probably know | wasn’t quite ready to give up yet.

Concealment To The Rescue

In A12.1, it says we should consider a vehicle without an inherent crew “Broken” for
Concealment gain/loss purposes. Unbroken units can stop Concealment gain. But to strip
Concealment, a Unit must be Good Order. The Concealment Gain/Loss chart reflects this
division in its columns; RED (Concealment Loss) and BLACK (Concealment Gain). If an AFV
cannot have Good Order status, it cannot strip Concealment. Recall, the index says Good
Order refers to “... a Personnel unit or vehicular inherent crew which is neither broken ...".
If a vehicle without an inherent crew is “Broken”, then one with an inherent crew is Good
Order. This follows my experience as players use vehicles to strip Concealment all the
time.

So now, the question is does the vehicle share the status of the inherent crew or does the
vehicle have its own separate status? For this answer, | have to appeal to logic while |
await an answer from Perry. If we believe vehicles have their own status, then we have
accepted that vehicles with inherent crews are ALWAYS Good Order units regardless of
the inherent crew’s status. This means vehicles always strip Concealment, even if
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Shocked or Stunned. In my experience, we do not play like this.

My Take

| think the intent of the rules are that a vehicle shares the Good Order status of its
inherent crew. Good Order has always included the “stunned, shocked” language. If there
was no intent to share the status of the inherent crew then adding “stunned, shocked” to
the definition of Good Order isn’'t necessary. It makes far more sense if vehicles share the
same status as the crew than it does otherwise.

At the time of this writing, | have submitted a Q&A and | am waiting on a response. Still, |
feel | am on firm ground. | have asked players that | know from around the globe and they
agree with my assessment. This doesn’t make it correct-only Perry can do that-but it
gives me confidence that | am on the right track. While players may disagree on verbiage
and the path | took to support my claim, we agree on game play.

An Aside

Take a moment to read the Q&A included in footnote 1 (for those reading the PDF, | am
sorry you’'ll have to go to my blog to read the footnote). Notice how the Q&A states an
Abandoned vehicle is a unit belonging to neither side. The index describes “Friendly” as
“having to do with the Nationality controlled by the player”. If an Abandoned vehicle
belongs to neither side, it is not friendly to the side Abandoning the vehicle. According to
A4.14, “Infantry may not move into the same Location containing an unconcealed enemy
unit during the MPh ...” with some exceptions. So how does Infantry enter the vehicle
under D5.427 Infantry can’t enter the Location of an enemy unit during the MPh and the
vehicle is not “Friendly”. Perhaps it just isn’t an enemy. Since it isn’t friendly, is entering a
vehicle only possible via CC with the Q&A?
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A21.2 reads (in part): “An AFV can be captured only if Abandoned (D5.42). If there are no
enemy Personnel in the Location with an Abandoned enemy AFV, it may be captured
automatically by any Infantry unit in the same location at the end of a CCPh but Ambush
is NA.” This rule explicitly implies the Abandoning side retains control of the vehicle. The
abandoning side controlling the vehicle makes perfect sense in the context of the other
rules. Because of this, | believe the response isn’t consistent with the rules. I still honor
the response despite my confusion and rules to the contrary. You can not pick and chose
which Q&A you believe in and still claim Q&A are authoritative. You have to accept the
(almost universally) good ones with the (very seldom) not so good ones.

Conclusion

In my opinion, a vehicle counter includes the inherent crew in its “normal” state. When
the crew is manning the vehicle, the vehicle can “normally” move and shoot. Even when
Bogged, Immobilized, Shocked, Stunned, etc, the vehicle could “normally” otherwise
move and shoot. This “normally” moving and shooting makes it a unit. Remove the crew,
the vehicle is an inanimate object incapable of anything. In spite of its printed MP and
Firepower, it has no capabilities without a crew. Thus, the combination of an inherent
crew manning a vehicle makes a vehicle counter a unit.

With that in mind, we go back to the A.7 and Index definition of “Good Order”. Now
including “stunned, shocked” makes complete sense. Of course, this whole article could
be wrong depending on how Perry answers. And when (and if) he does, | will be sure to let
you know.
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