
Defending Against Sleaze Freeze: An Important Q&A

Description

This article is another in my series on Defending Against Sleaze. Like my last few articles,
this article delves into Q&A. Like those previous Q&A, the Q&A highlighted here also
provides a counter-intuitive answer. Still, the Q&A provides some great ammunition for
defending against Sleaze Freeze so I want to highlight it here. 

Rules Dive
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First, I highlight D2.1 which states (in part) “A vehicle which ends its MPh with MP 
remaining is assumed to use all those MP in that hex.” For experienced ASL players this
should come as no surprise. A vehicle which elects to move MUST spend all of its allotted
MP, even if only spent in delay. 

Second, I want to highlight D2.18 which says “A vehicle is not prohibited from expending 
more MP to enter a hex than the minimum required, and may, as it enters a new hex, 
declare a higher-than-necessary MP expenditure.” Again, this should not surprise veteran
players. It is not uncommon for us to spend more MP’s along the way to reach the
vehicle’s final destination spending 1 MP to enter and 1 MP to stop. For novice players, we
usually do this so a target AFV has bad odds to go into Motion or take a shot in Defensive
First Fire (D1F). More often, attackers use D2.18 to “Sleaze Freeze” an enemy Location by
expending all remaining MP to enter an enemy Location in Vehicular Bypass, inflicting
Target Selection Limits (TSL, A7.212).

It is important to note, per D2.18, vehicles spend these extra MP to ENTER a hex, not to
continue bypassing to another hex side once the vehicle is ALREADY IN the hex. Also,
vehicles spend those extra MP AFTER entering the new hex, not before. 

The Q&A

The complete Q&A is in the footnote below. The important provisions of this Q&A say a
vehicle must continue to move into a new hex if it can. This confirms D2.18’s requirement
to enter the new Location before spending the extra MP. A vehicle with one or more
remaining MP cannot opt to pay more MP than it has remaining to enter the new Location
and stay in its current Location in Motion under D2.4. 

This is a very important distinction to keep in mind. A lot of players will move a vehicle
into bypass to Sleaze Freeze a Location with one MP remaining hoping to get a Smoke
Dispenser allocation too. They may enter the Location with many remaining MP, try for
and not get a Smoke Dispenser, and then say “I will stay there in Motion for the rest of my
MP”. This is against the rules and the Q&A makes that abundantly clear. 

Let’s look at some examples to make sure this is perfectly clear. 

Example 1
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Pictured is the start of the German Movement Phase (MPh). The Mk IV starts for one and
enters Q7 for two with an intent to use VBM to use the Smoke Dispenser in P6. While
entering the Mk IV spends two extra MP for four MP spent. The Mk IV fails the SD roll. The
German player decides that “Freezing” the American unit is the only option so announces
“Remain in the Location spending all remaining MP”. 

As noted above, you should not allow this. Such MP would count as “Delay” MP (D2.1) but
only Stopped vehicles may use Delay. The German player doesn’t want to spend a Stop
MP since this would make elimination in Close Combat Reaction Fire (CCRF) much more
likely.

Instead, the German player announces the vehicle will enter P5 for 13 points, more than
the vehicle has remaining. Since D2.4 states a vehicle which can’t enter a new Location
with the available remaining MP, the German player marks his unit in Motion. Again, you
should not allow this. Recall, the extra MP are spent AFTER entering the new hex, not
before. You can not announce a greater expenditure like this. The rules do not allow this.

Referring to the picture on the right, the German played can legally enter P5 for one MP.
Since the German vehicle has 9 MP remaining, it must enter the Location in its Covered
Arc toward its direction of travel. The German vehicle must enter P5. 

It is also worth noting the Q&A prevents a D2.4 entry into O6 as a means to remain in
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Motion in the current Location. Per the Q&A, if the vehicle can enter O6 in bypass, then it
must do that instead. 

Example 2

Again, it is the start of the German MPh. The Mk IV starts for one and enters O6 using VBM
spending six MF (four extra) for seven MP spent. Again the AFV fails the SD attempt. The
German player announces the vehicle will bypass O6 along the O6/N5 hexside for the Mk
IV’s remaining MP. This is illegal. “Extra” MP must be spent when ENTERING the Location.
While the Mk IV spent four extra MP when entering already, it cannot spend more now. 

However, there is a silver lining. By spending four extra MP when entering, the Mk IV has
spent seven total MP. It costs half of its MP to enter the Woods hex in N5 (6.5). This hex is
directly in the CA of the Mk IV and in its direction of travel. The Mk IV pays 6.5 MP to enter
N5 which is more than its remaining 6 MP. By declaring a desire to enter N5, the Mk IV
can remain in motion in O6. Contrary to D2.1, D2.4 says by doing this, all remaining MP
are not spent and simply just disappear. This disappearance is further confirmed in the
Q&A. 

Final Note

In my playing, I have also seen a person declare the vehicle will reverse into a hex behind
the moving vehicle for a total more MP than the vehicle has remaining. Because the
vehicle doesn’t have enough MP to make the move, they invoke D2.4 and mark the
vehicle with a motion counter. Again, this is illegal. Rule D2.24 clearly states a vehicle
must spend a Stop MP and a Start MP changing directions. 

These examples show an attacker desperately trying to not spend a Stop MP. When
attacked in Close Combat, a Non-Stopped vehicle receives a +2 DRM. This puts the
chance to eliminate/Immobilize the vehicle at 16.7% (CCV = 5, +2 Non-Stopped, -1 Street
Fighting, Original DR 4 or less to eliminate/Immobilize). If instead, the AFV spends one to
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Stop, the chances to eliminate/Immobilize the vehicle climbs to 41.7% (CCV 5, -1 Street
Fighting DRM, Original DR 6 or less to eliminate/Immobilize). By Stopping, the Defender is
more than twice as likely to eliminate/Immobilize the vehicle. No wonder the attacker is
trying to avoid the Stop. 

Conclusion

Like most of my other articles on Sleaze Freeze, this article sounds a little on the Rules
Lawyer spectrum. I hate that accusation as it implies enforcing the rules detracts from
playing an enjoyable game. The reality is Sleaze Freeze is too powerful for the limited risk
the vehicle assumes. I maintain the best defense against Sleaze Freeze is knowing the
rules and properly enforcing them. You are not being a Rules Lawyer by insisting proper
game play. At least that is my opinion.
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